I work in foodie heaven + I made raw cinnamon raisin “bread”

Today, I had my second training day (first was on Monday) at Whole Foods! I will be working in the marketing department, and my main responsibly is doing cooking demonstrations and setting up sample stands for new products.

Creativity is encouraged, and I am even allowed to set up wine pairing with whatever food I’m featuring. Also, I get 20% off all products, and for my first 2 training days I got free lunch from the hot bar. Oh, and one of the ladies who works there is also a message therapist, and she gave everyone 15 min free massages today. Free lunch + free massage = happy.

Is there a more perfect part-time job for me? I think not.

Now onto some food.

I’ve been intimidated to make my own raw food for a few reasons. Obviously fresh raw veggies are easy, but cashew cheese, raw salad dressings, homemade almond milk, zucchini pasta, etc. often have ingredients I’ve never heard of and don’t know where to find, require equipment I don’t have, or just seem messy and/or time consuming. But then I saw some raw cinnamon raisin “bread” on HEAB. All the ingredients are normal, and she used her oven instead of a dehydrator (which makes them no longer raw, but close enough)

All that’s required to make it is a food processor, an oven, and these ingredients:

2 cups of almonds, 1 cup sunflower seeds, 1 cup ground flax (not pictured) 2 carrots, 1 zucchini (to make about one cup shredded), dates, raisins (I used golden), an apple, and cinnamon (not pictured).

I follow all the directions on the original recipe except instead on 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, I used a heaping tablespoon and wished I had added a bit more. I also used HEAB’s oven method as I do not have a dehydrator.

Pre-oven

This was relatively easy to make, but it did make quite a mess:

Was it worth it?

with whipped cream cheese, inspired by HEAB

Yes, it was worth it. I would probably give them 7/10. They didn’t have that much flavor, but they were crunchy, fun to eat, and something different. For some reason I found these really addicting even though they weren’t really sweet. I think I just really like almonds :)

Story/Question: I met a girl at Whole Foods orientation that was obsessed with her juicer. She talked about how good fresh juice made her feel and how her fiancee has been making homemade organic fruit bread out of the remaining pulp. She had some of the bread with her and let me try it….wow, it was good! We saw an enormous bag of carrots in the store, and she said she could go through that in a week. For the first time, I felt like I needed a juicer. I’m still worried it might be too much trouble (takes up space, makes a mess) and that I might not actually use it. So, my question (or questions, I guess): do you have a juicer? What kind? How often do you use it? Is it worth it?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “I work in foodie heaven + I made raw cinnamon raisin “bread”

  1. Danielle

    YUUUMMMMMYYY. I’m so jealous of your job!!

    PS-I got a juicer this weekend!!!!!! It was 9.99 at the thrift store!!!!! The juice I made was kind of bitter (used the orange peel), but it’s awesome! Just go look at the Goodwill/st. vincents…I’m becoming the crazy kitchen appliance thrifter!! I haven’t made crackers with the pulp yet, but so excited about it! Juicers are too expensive in normal life though! Find a used one! :)

  2. I do enjoy juicing! I got a Breville compact juicer for Christmas, but it’s $99 normally I believe. How often you use it is up to you. I go through phases. When I was in a juice phase I was doing 3-4 per week. Now maybe 1? (I’m in a smoothie phase now.) Also depends on how much produce I have. I will say this though – nothing gives me energy like fresh juice does!

  3. I didn’t know you were going to be working at Whole Foods. So exciting. I tried to get a part-time job there last year…mainly for the 20% discount, but they weren’t hiring. It’s probably a good thing as I’d probably end up spending my entire paycheck on the hot bar everyday.

    Mmmm, I loved that bread, especially with the whipped cream cheese. So glad you tried it. CD finished off the whole batch in about 2 days. I think I got about 5 small pieces. :(

    I used to have a Jack Lalanne juicer – $99 from Costco. It was easy to use and clean up wasn’t that bad, and I loved making dehydrated bread with the pulp.

  4. your title roped me in and the post did not disappoint! i wish i worked at whole foods, what an awesome job! yum that looks amazing too

  5. I saw that Cinnamon bread too and was tempted to give it a whirl! Maybe I will…I don’t have a juice, because I literally have the smallest kitchen ever, but my brother and his fiancee do, so I use it when I’m there a few times a month and am entirely jealous of their creations! I think it you have even a little space, it’s totally worth it to have one.

  6. I want to work at Whole Foods! How did you find the job? Did you just go into the store or find it online?

    I have a juicer and frankly, I don’t use it very often. Mostly because you have to buy a lot of produce to make a little bit of juice. And it’s annoying to clean. I mean, not really b/c it’s dishwasher safe, but you have to rinse it right away and I’m usually in too much of a hurry in the mornings.

  7. Wow, that would be my dream job too! I used to feel the same way about raw food, it can seem so complicated, but I just bring it down to my level when it gets too crazy. Raw food should be simple and not overwhelming! The cinnamon bread looks delicious. As for the juicer, no I don’t have one. I don’t really drink juice (I don’t drink my calories – I drink a ton of water. Besides, it just seems like too much to deal with. People do seem to love their juices though. The funny thing is, I would like it more for the pulp than the juice!

  8. I’ve been wanting to get a juicer for a long time now, but I’m in the same boat as you. I’m just not sure about it yet. So I’m interested in seeing your comments.

  9. I’m interested to learn more about juicing too–it seems like such a good way to boost nutrition!

  10. Congrats on your new job! I think it sounds like so much fun, and sounds like a great fit for you. Plus I notice almost everytime I go their signs about how they were rated as the best company to work for. So congrats again!

Leave a Reply

